Forge on.

Forge on.

I have yet to meet people who think as I do. While I know I’m no unique flower, I often get strange, often bemused or patronizing reactions when I share some of my thoughts with others. I get patted on the head, or smirked at, or dismissed as “you’re being silly!” For the most part as an adult I’ve learned to shrug off the less-than-positive responses, but sometimes I wonder if I could ever meet people who could just get it. Get me.

There’s not much I can do about it at the moment. Though the feeling of disconnect and isolation will probably remain for a bit longer, there is not much else to do but put my face and arms up to the sky and live.

– Buddha figurines from a stall in Chinatown, San Francisco, CA

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Kristina, you are unique. And I mean that in the best way possible. I think we are all strange creatures, and we all wander around feeling separate, lost, alone through a large part of our lives. It just might not be as apparent for some as for others. I know I’ve struggled for years. Finally, I figured, what the hell, I’m freaking weird and I’m never going to find someone who’s the same exact sort of weird, so let’s all be different kinds of weird together. I’m not sure if that’s the best way to go about it, but, it works for me. Sorry for the babbling. Your post just touched a chord with me. By the way, I’ve really been enjoying your photography from your travels =)

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Tina 🙂 A bit about writing this post: it’s almost like it begged to be written, especially when I saw the shot while wandering around Chinatown. While I was traveling the issue got shoved to the back burner, but now that I’ve been home those feelings have been more apparent. It’s a little lonely feeling “strange” and having to explain my thought processes to people who, in their bewilderment, don’t know what to do with my point of view.

      I appreciate your taking the time to holler 😀 I’m taking it a day at a time, with many photos liberally sprinkled in between. 🙂

Leave a Reply

