Supermoon June 2013

Shots from the last two nights of the much-vaunted Supermoon 2013.

DSC_0735 merge copy

Saturday, June 22, 2013.

DSC_0820 watermark

 

Sunday June 23, 2013.

I borrowed my uncle’s AF NIKKOR 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 ED VR for these two shots. It is a slow telephoto lens, taking a while to hunt through the range when on AF. It was still a fun lens to learn astrophotography on. I would love to do more like this during regular full moons, but I feel that other moons won’t be as fun to watch as this one.

Next supermoon is in 2015 or 2016, I believe. It gives me much time to practice!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great shots! I like the last one with the clouds best. I just started on astrophotography too. 🙂 Before that I tried to take moon pictures with my point and shoot and failed miserably Haha (shots of the moon are great all the year by the way; I actually love when it’s a sickle moon. the shadow adds a great touch to the whole picture!) Greetings!

    • Oooh, I had to look up what sickle moon is. Point and shoots are great, but they can only go so far.

      Thank you for dropping by! The clouds one was fairly challenging. I have a lot to learn about focusing and I think I want to invest in a shutter release cable or some wireless trigger too. Photography sure is an expensive hobby, haha.

Leave a Reply

